Skip to content

Tom Roche Lifetime Achievement Award

The Tom Roche Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual for their long-term commitment to the consulting engineering profession and to the community. Tom Roche was instrumental in establishing ACEC/MN. Not only was he a primary force behind the formation of ACEC, he was also instrumental in establishing chapters in other states. His passion for engineering was unparalleled, and his passion for ACEC was a close second, which is why we continue to bestow this career achievement award in his name.

Ed Studniski, PE of Ayres Associates was honored with this year’s Tom Roche Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to an individual who has contributed significantly during their career to the engineering profession, ACEC/MN, and the greater community.

Ed is a passionate champion of Ayres’ longstanding commitment to serving clients as partners – the same mantra he lived by as president of Gausman & Moore before its merger with Ayres in 2021. His management philosophy is built on a foundation of trust, accountability, and execution. He had been a member of the North Central Electrical League’s board of directors and is a past president of the North Central Electrical Engineering Society. He is also a past trustee of the ACEC Retirement Trust and a current member of the Rotary Club of Roseville and the Roseville Area Optimist Club. Ed has specialized during much of his 35-year career in electrical engineering for the retail sector, delivering appropriate, sustainable solutions within each client's budget. His experience also has spanned the education, institutional, commercial, and healthcare sectors. In a job that's filled with deadlines, Ed's favorite aspects of the work have always been delivering great designs on time and nurturing fellow professionals' growth and progress in their careers and watching them thrive.

Thank you and congratulations!

21 vert

Tom Roche Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

1975   Wally Bruch
1976   Doug Wolfangle
1977   Gordon Moore
1978   Jack Braun
1979   Bob Rosene
1980   Dave Conkey
1981   Bob Michaud
1982   Skip McCombs
1983   Max Oftedal
1984   Bill Schoell
1985   Jack Nagel
1986 Bob McFarlin
1987  Glenn Gausman
1988  Chuck Britzius
1989  Earl Oxley

1990  Leif Ericksen
1991  Jim Tillitt
1992  Chuck Barger
1993  Jim Orr
1994  Duane Prew
1995  Dag Knudsen
1996  Chuck Ballou
1997  Cam Kruse
1998  Bill Sayre
1999  Harvey Harvala
2000  Jim Keller
2001  Wally Ouse
2002  Ken Adolf
2003  Dwight Benoy
2004  Shirley Walker Stinson

2005  Lane Hersey
2006  Joe Hallberg
2007  Dick Sobiech
2008 Terry Swor
2009 Jeff Coleman
2010   Bill Bennett
2011   George Kluempke
2012   Randy Geerdes
2013   Douglas Cooley
2014   Robert Struve
2015   John Smith
2016   Glenn Schreiner
2017   Randy Morris
2018   Gene Sieve
2019  John Dillingham

2020  Eric Heiberg
2021  David Oxley
2022  Dave Montebello
2023  Ed Studniski